|Bridge of Carron, rail line once ran on left side|
|Carron Station and overgrown platform|
|Imperial Warehouses, pulley on left above the rail track|
The distillery was designed by Charles Doig and was built from
|Imperial Distillery, built from Aberdeen red brick|
|Imperial Distillery offices beside railway station|
Dailuaine Distillery had been a success for Mackenzie, along with James Fleming who had died in 1895, and the business had expanded in the 1890s to include North of Scotland and Talisker Distilleries. However, Imperial opened just in time to meet the grim reaper who rode a horse named Pattison through the industry in an almighty crashing of casks and dreams, and so it closed within a year and remained silent until reawakening in 1918.
Dailuaine-Talisker was taken over by DCL in 1925 and they closed Imperial the following year along with many others, although it continued to provide malt for Dailuaine. It remained silent again until reopening in 1956 and then in the mid 1960s the distillery was reconstructed, the maltings and kiln demolished and Saladin maltings installed. Imperial’s production was mostly used for blending and it then remained in production for nearly 30 years until 1985. It opened again in 1989 after being sold to Allied Distillers who ran it for a decade until 1998 and then formally closed it in 2000.
|Imperial Distillery after reconstruction|
The distillery was almost demolished in 2005 for housing, its location above the banks of the Spey both picturesque and sufficiently high above the river to avoid any flooding risks in the event that Muckle Spate II ever rumbles down the valley. The mothballed distillery is currently under the care of Chivas Bros, its future uncertain and its regal beginnings now just a memory in this second diamond jubilee year. Prince Charles likes a wee dram; perhaps he will be toasting the Queen with a glass of Imperial this weekend.